In my opinion the paragraph about write-locked auto-checked-out
should only apply to such resources that have the auto-version property
set to "locked-checkout". The reason is that locking clients lose a
A locking client would first try to obtain a lock, open the document for
editing and then release the lock when the document is closed. In
this removes the distinction between "checkout" and "checkout-checkin"
a locking client. Not checking in automatically is a valuable feature.
can work all day and check everything in at the end of the day for
It combines the convenience of not having to check out everything
complete control over the amount of versions.